Aside

So Far, So Good

1 Dec

Well, it’s day six of making my bed. After twenty-one days, I hope to make it a habit.

I decided to start this blog because I know I’m not the only person out there who doesn’t make the bed in the morning. Okay, not really. I started this blog because I KNOW I’m not the only person who needs a healthier financial life. To be totally honest, I have very little money in savings and I pretty much live paycheck to paycheck. I’m not happy about this, obviously. But I can’t change how I’ve handled things in the past. I can only change how I handle things now and in the future.

The first thing I need to change is how I think about spending and saving. I enjoy spending. What’s ironic is I don’t like shopping. I’m very linear. I actually plan ahead on what I’m going to spend, which you would think would make it easier for me to save. But most of the time I just decide I want to purchase something and I do it. I throw caution to the wind. And most of the time I regret the purchase hours, if not minutes, later.

About two years ago, I developed a budget spreadsheet to help me handle my finances better. I love that spreadsheet. And I pay all my bills on time. I have a space on my budget for savings, but I really should change that space to “extra spending” because that’s exactly what I use it for. And I don’t want to struggle anymore.

So, my blog starts now, as well as a change to my spending mindset. I will make my bed every day, and I will think about my spending and saving every day. I will share my short-term and long-term goals. I will share my successes and failures, and I welcome you to do the same. Your advice/warnings are always welcome, too!

Pray as I try to shift a mentality that’s been with me for as long as I remember. This journey will be fun, if we let it, and we don’t have to spend money to have fun!!!

Share your thoughts here!

The Debt Breakup

One girl's journey to financial freedom and debt free travel

eatingdisorderfreedom

My journey from eating dissorder hell to freedom

preneedfuneralplan

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

Brené Brown

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

One Egg Short of a Dozen

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

Mikki's Blog – Living in the Grace and Love of God

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

my blessed life

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

Havah Mommy

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

