A Few Goals

9 Dec

Without consultation, plans are frustrated, But with many counselors they succeed. (Proverbs 15:22 NASB)

I promised you I would share some of my goals, and I plan to do that. I also want to take a moment and thank the people in my life who are willing to hold me accountable. I need it badly, or I will just swipe my debit card without a second thought.

I will not go into huge monetary details about my goals. But I will try to be as specific as possible while maintaining a level of privacy necessary for such a public blog. There are two or three people who know more specifics, and I’m comfortable keeping it that way. I am using the Dave Ramsey plan, with one slight modification.

1. Save for an emergency fund. That’s right – I don’t have an emergency fund yet. But I’m gonna work on that first. I have two accounts currently. I use one for my primary account and one to pay a couple of loans I have (which I will discuss in detail below). I shredded the debit card to the loan account and upped my direct deposit amount into that account. The closest branch to me is 30 miles one way, so I have to make quite a trek to take money out. I’m hoping that removing a source of temptation will help to keep my money in savings. I’m praying that I will remember this goal. After all, there is still PayPal!

By my calculations, I should have this emergency fund complete by the end of March. Eek!

2. Pay off small loan. After I save my emergency fund, I will take the amount I’ve set aside each month for the emergency fun and apply it toward the small loan.

By my calculations, I should have this loan paid by the end of June.

3. Save for car repairs. This is the Dave Ramsey modification I referred to earlier. I drive quite a bit (25,000 miles last year), and I’d like to save for an emergency repair before I begin working on step four. I should have this fund setup by the end of September.

4. Pay off auto loan. This one will take some work and discipline. I don’t really need to elaborate on this point. By my calculations, I should have this loan (if I’m disciplined) paid off by March 2014.

So, these are my very short-term financial goals. I will provide some long term goals a little ways down the road. And I will bring up this post again as I succeed or miss the mark on my goals.

I want to try to immerse myself in wise counsel. I plan on listening to the Dave Ramsey podcast and maybe purchase a few finance books. What are some of your favorite finance books? What are some of your short term goals, or what do you use to help you stay on the path to obtain your goals?

Share your thoughts here!

The Debt Breakup

One girl's journey to financial freedom and debt free travel

eatingdisorderfreedom

My journey from eating dissorder hell to freedom

preneedfuneralplan

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

Brené Brown

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

One Egg Short of a Dozen

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

Mikki's Blog – Living in the Grace and Love of God

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

my blessed life

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

Havah Mommy

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

