12 Things I Learned in 2012

31 Dec

Yesterday I shared some of the things I did right in 2012.  Now, I’d like to take some time to share what I have learned this year.  Obviously, this doesn’t cover ALL the lessons I’ve learned, as those are numerous. But I do want to take some time to think about what 2012 taught me.  I feel like it will help me to be more focused for 2013. 

  1. I learned how many friendships I really have. I always knew I had friends, but I don’t think I had any idea how deep and valuable those friendships were until this year. I now understand how blessed I am to have so many wonderful people in my life. 
  2. I have learned how blessed I am to have the family that I do.  They are so caring. They are all healthy and happy.  We’ve all grown so much, and I’m so proud of them all.
  3. I learned that it is okay to need help. I realized this year that I need help.  I think it’s made me a better friend, a better daughter, and a better believer.  And I’m thankful that there are people out there who are willing to help!
  4. I learned how powerful exercise can be. I started exercising in March, and I have never been in better shape physically, mentally, emotionally, or spiritually. 
  5. I learned how blessed I am to be healthy.  I am so fortunate. And I’m so thankful.
  6. I learned that I can finish! I ran a 5k just a couple of weeks ago, and I was so glad to cross the finish line.  However, I’m not just speaking about literal finish lines.  God is showing me that I have the power to finish whatever He has asked me to do. I can’t wait to see what I finish in 2013!
  7. I learned that “virtuous is not nowhere.” A good friend and mentor gave me those words earlier this year, and I have not forgotten them.  It is so easy to think that I have to compromise my values in order to rush what I am so desperate to have in my life. 
  8. I learned how easy it is to be proud.  It’s a thin line between pride and confidence, and I have had to repent a few times for having pride.  A few years ago, the only pride I had was false pride.  Now, I feel better about myself than I ever have, and I am still learning how to be confident and humble.
  9. I also learned how powerful forgiveness can be.  God’s forgiveness, even when I’m filled with pride, is one of the most powerful forces in the world.  And when God’s forgiveness manifests itself here on earth in people, well, there are only a few things that feel better than forgiveness, even when it’s not deserved.
  10. I’ve learned God’s work in my life has already been immense. It’s still hard for me to believe how much He’s done.  And He’s done it with Grace and Love. Eight years ago, I was a totally different person.  It brings tears to my eyes when I think about what He’s done for me.  Thank you, Lord
  11. And fittingly, I’ve learned just how much joy writing brings me.  I put it down for years, and picking it back up has, well, been a lot of fun.  I encourage you to pick up your passions and enjoy them.  The passion is God-breathed!
  12. Lastly, I learned that it is well past time for me to gain control of my finances.  And I’m seriously ready for a change. Which is the reason I started this blog.  I am praying daily to tame this problem.  I am surrounding myself with people who will challenge me to spend and save better. I am willing to change, and I believe the change is coming.  Pray with me and for me that 2013 will provide the change that I’ve needed for years.

Tomorrow, I will share what my goals are for next year.  I’m super excited about that post!  What have you learned this year?

Share your thoughts here!

The Debt Breakup

One girl's journey to financial freedom and debt free travel

eatingdisorderfreedom

My journey from eating dissorder hell to freedom

preneedfuneralplan

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

Brené Brown

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

One Egg Short of a Dozen

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

Mikki's Blog – Living in the Grace and Love of God

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

my blessed life

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

Havah Mommy

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

