13 Goals for 2013

1 Jan

I want to set some attainable goals for this year.  I wouldn’t necessarily call them resolutions, although I have no problem with people setting resolutions.  Sometimes I think we set unrealistic resolutions, and it seems like we set ourselves up for failure. It’s important to have reasonable expectations. I’m not sure how “reasonable” my goals are, but here they are.

  1. I want to run a 10k before the year is up.  I plan on running three 5k races and then moving up to a 10k.  I will keep you all posted!
  2. I want to give more of my time to organizations outside of my church. I love giving my time to my church, and I want to spend time giving to those outside of the church, too.
  3. I want to love more – those I know and those I don’t.  It’s easy to love those we know, and I want to show those I know just how much I love them.  I also want to show all of His people that I love them, even if it means I simply give a bigger tip to my waitress or I smile at the stranger in the checkout line. I just want to love more!
  4. I want to read more. Last year I attempted to read 52 books in a year. I didn’t make it, and the books I did read weren’t as enjoyable because I was more focused on the goal than the book.  This year, I just want to read more.
  5. I want to laugh more.  I sometimes take myself or my life too seriously, and I want to laugh more, whether I laugh at myself or with others. Laughter really is the best medicine, and I want to take it every day!
  6. I want to learn more. I want to learn more about myself. I want to learn how to handle situations better than I did last year.  And I want to learn more about the life God has for me.
  7. I want to meet more people. Enough said.
  8. Speaking of meeting new people: I want to meet a man who loves the Lord, and not just any man. I want to meet my future husband. Please pray for this with me!
  9. I want to open my heart more to others. I want my relationships to become richer, and that can’t happen until I open my heart.
  10. I want to smile more.  People have told me that I have a nice smile, and I want to exploit that feature more than I do now. I feel like it will help me better relate to others.
  11. I want to dream more. For years, I stopped dreaming for myself.  Now, I want to believe that God has great things in store for me.  DREAM BIG!!!
  12. I want to try more new things.  Maybe I will try cooking lessons or dancing lessons or something else that’s fun.  I just want to try things that I’ve never tried before.  I’m open to suggestions, too! 
  13. I want to have better control of my finances. I started this blog because I’m desperate for a change.  This time next year, I hope to move this goal into the “Things I did Right” blog.

It really seems like most of my goals are connected somehow.  I hope next year I can look at this blog and check off these goals.  Do you have any goals/resolutions this year?  Do you have any suggestions for my goals this year?

Share your thoughts here!

The Debt Breakup

One girl's journey to financial freedom and debt free travel

eatingdisorderfreedom

My journey from eating dissorder hell to freedom

preneedfuneralplan

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

Brené Brown

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

One Egg Short of a Dozen

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

Mikki's Blog – Living in the Grace and Love of God

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

my blessed life

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

Havah Mommy

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

