Tide Roll! And I will too, One Day!

8 Jan

rolltide15Alabama played Notre Dame in the BCS championship game on Monday, and if you know anything about the state of Alabama football, you know there are really two types of people who live in the state: those who are Alabama fans (Roll Tide) and those who aren’t (me). I won’t go into the long drawn out story for why I’m not a Bama fan; that story is for another blog. But it is physically impossible for me to cheer for the Tide. I joked with my friends from church that I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me (Phil 4:13), so surely I can cheer for their beloved Tide, right???

There really is so much truth behind that verse. I CAN do all things through Christ who strengthens me. I can learn how to manage my money so that it brings glory to Him. I can learn how to spend and save. I can prosper as the Bible promises over and over again. I can overcome a myriad of other problems that I have. God wants me to be all He’s created me to be. And my prayer daily is that I can be just that!

I had a couple of setbacks financially this week. One was of my own doing, and one was out of my control. I was discouraged with the circumstances and it took quite some time for me to reset my focus. But God…

In the past, I might have stayed there for a while, and maybe even given up on my goals. I would’ve just said “screw it” and thrown my hands up, probably with my cash in hand. Now, I’m focused on the end goal, which right now is focused mostly on my emergency fund. So, I rearranged some things and am still set to reach that mark very soon. And I have to tell you, I can’t wait to post that blog!!!

I still have a LONG way to go to reach financial freedom. I can’t wait for that day. But for now, I put my trust in Him. I will put my hand to the plow, and continue to work my plan. I won’t get it right all the time. I want to keep trying though, and perhaps the continued trying is the first breakthrough God wants to do in my financial life?

What kind of breakthroughs do you need in your life? Do you expect enough from God to help you overcome them? Please share what breakthrough you need below. And readers let’s pray together that we will overcome.

P.S. I did not cheer for Alabama. But with joy in my heart I say: ROLL TIDE!!! A 42-14 win!!! Congrats to all my Bama friends on your 15th National Championship!

Share your thoughts here!

The Debt Breakup

One girl's journey to financial freedom and debt free travel

eatingdisorderfreedom

My journey from eating dissorder hell to freedom

preneedfuneralplan

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

Brené Brown

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

One Egg Short of a Dozen

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

Mikki's Blog – Living in the Grace and Love of God

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

my blessed life

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

Havah Mommy

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

