I Like Leftovers

12 Jan

And my God shall supply all your needs according to his riches in glory in Christ Jesus. (Phil 4:19)

Do I trust God enough to supply all my needs? Admittedly, there are probably times when I do not. It’s an act of faith to trust Him to supply our needs. There have been many times when I’ve rushed to make a purchase simply because I wanted it, thinking it was a need. Did I give the Lord a chance to provide for me? Emphatically – NO.

At this time, there is something I want. And it’s something life giving and spiritual. But I absolutely do not have the money to purchase it, regardless of how cheap it is, at least without rearranging some of my other expenses. If I did that, I would be manipulating my envelopes again, and I’ve been guilty of that way too many times. Look where that got me!

So, I’m trusting the Lord to provide it for me. He knows the desires of our hearts. I remember a time when I was traveling and forgot to bring lotion. A friend of mine unexpectedly gave me lotion as a birthday gift. If He can give me lotion, He can give me this desire, too.

On a positive note, I actually had some of my blow money left after I got paid. I went to the bank today and deposited it into my savings account. I’m trying not to lose focus on the accomplishment because if I look at my alternate savings account, there’s not a lot of money in it. Again, I’m trying to focus on the little victories. If the little foxes spoil the vine (Song of Solomon 2:15), can’t the little victories revive the vine?

Another note on my blow money – I don’t have much this pay period. Not much at all, and that’s a scary place for me. Having that money in my wallet is a source of comfort. But my comfort should be in Him not in man or man’s ways. “If I have put my confidence in gold, And called fine gold my trust, That too would have been an iniquity calling for judgment, For I would have denied God above” (Job 31:24, 28 NASB). And I think that living on this minimal amount of money will actually be healthy for me. It will show me that I can live on a minimal amount.

So, what are some ways that you keep your spending down? What suggestions do you have to help me until I get paid again?

Share your thoughts here!

The Debt Breakup

One girl's journey to financial freedom and debt free travel

eatingdisorderfreedom

My journey from eating dissorder hell to freedom

preneedfuneralplan

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

Brené Brown

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

One Egg Short of a Dozen

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

Mikki's Blog – Living in the Grace and Love of God

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

my blessed life

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

Havah Mommy

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

