Intentional Return

19 Jan

So, I filed my taxes and realized I would have a pretty sizable return this year. I immediately began to think about ways I could spend that money.

To be honest, I started planning how I’d spend my income tax return in August. I’ve been guilty of this before, and I usually plan something practical and then blow the rest. This year is no different, as I plan to get a tune up and to take my pup to the vet.

I also want to get some new running shoes. I’m not sure if I need to purchase these shoes. I could try to save up for them. I think buying the shoes with money that I saved for would be more satisfying and would also help me to be more sure I was getting the best deal.

After I realized that I would be getting a large return, I decided to change my deductions on my taxes. It’s important for me to have the money throughout the year instead of at the beginning of the next year. After all, I’m trying to get out of debt! If I have the money throughout the year, I feel like I’m more likely to spend it correctly. If I have a large lump sum, I’m more likely to blow it.

I’m trying to change the way I think and feel about spending money. Dave Ramsey says that handling money is 80% behavioral, and my behavior needs a serious work up. Every time I make my bed, I think about my spending. Every time I write a blog, I think about spending. Every time I write in my spending journal, I think about spending. Every time I open my wallet, I think about spending. Every time I listen to a Dave Ramsey podcast, I think about spending. Are you sensing a trend here?

I want to live intentionally. I want to handle my finances intentionally. I want to handle my relationships intentionally. I want every step I take to be filled with God’s intentions, for my life and for others. I hope that my blog is filled with intention. And I hope to continue to provide the good reports about how God is changing the way I think about spending and saving. He’s so good to me and wants to give us the desires of our hearts. My desire right now is to become financially fit.

I will keep you posted on how I spend my return. What do you plan to do with your return?

What do you want to do intentionally? How do you stay financially fit?

One Response to “Intentional Return”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Challenge Accepted « I Make My Bed - February 4, 2013

    […] money that I used was actually my tax refund. I blogged earlier about how I would spend that return. It’s a good thing I didn’t make too many plans, as I had to spend the money in a few […]

Share your thoughts here!

The Debt Breakup

One girl's journey to financial freedom and debt free travel

eatingdisorderfreedom

My journey from eating dissorder hell to freedom

preneedfuneralplan

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

Brené Brown

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

One Egg Short of a Dozen

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

Mikki's Blog – Living in the Grace and Love of God

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

my blessed life

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

Havah Mommy

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

