Best Starbucks Ever

25 Jan

I mentioned in one of my recent posts that I did not have much blow money for the two weeks until I got paid. I had $20 spending money. I don’t know that I have ever spent less than $20 in a two week period. I was almost terrified of what the two weeks would look like.

My financial accountability partner told me that if I made it two weeks without spending more than $20 she would buy me a cup of Starbucks. What a great motivating factor! I think it’s appropriate now to say how thankful I am for her. She has been absolutely fantastic through this process and so supportive, even when I was unreceptive (and maybe even a little rude) during our financial discussions.

But the larger motivating factor was for me to walk away from the two week period without spending more than $20. Last time I got paid, I was able to put a small amount of money back in my savings because I had refrained from spending it. I was so excited that I was able to keep that money! I wanted that feeling again.

I set a goal to have money left over. $5 was the amount I had in mind. I didn’t quite make it. I had $8 instead! By the way, a friend of mine paid for my lunch last Friday. I would have spent almost $8 on lunch if she hadn’t done that. Thanks, Kimberly!!!

20130125-085818.jpg I have to tell you…that was the best cup of Starbucks I’ve ever had. I even stepped it up and got a white chocolate mocha! Sure, it was free! But it was the accomplishment that led to the coffee that made it extra tasty! Now, I find myself wondering if I could do this for a year. If I trimmed my spending down for 12 months, I could have all my debts paid off except my student loans. 12 months isn’t that bad, and think about how good that cup of coffee will taste if I make it!

I’m not sure if I will try to do this or not. But if I decide to do this, I need to make sure I focus on each pay day, and not the daunting task of living on $20 blow money for the next year. One day at a time, right?!?!

What are some ways I can live on $40 a month blow money? Share your thoughts below!

Share your thoughts here!

The Debt Breakup

One girl's journey to financial freedom and debt free travel

eatingdisorderfreedom

My journey from eating dissorder hell to freedom

preneedfuneralplan

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

Brené Brown

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

One Egg Short of a Dozen

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

Mikki's Blog – Living in the Grace and Love of God

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

my blessed life

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

Havah Mommy

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

