Cost of Financial Freedom

31 Jan

What is the cost of financial freedom? I would probably say it is incalculable. I can’t tell you how many times I have found myself ruminating over my financial situation. I’ve caught myself driving down the road wondering what I would do if I wrecked my car because I wouldn’t have the money to pay for my deductible. And how would I get to work? A myriad of questions run through my mind at all times regarding my financial situation. I could go on and on about my – and there’s really not a better word -worries, but we are called to put our trust in Him. Jesus was very clear about worrying in Matthew 6:34, “Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about its own things. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble.”

As I’ve begun to refocus my mentality on my finances, I’ve realized just how valuable financial freedom is. The borrower truly is slave to the lender (Prov 22:7)! At this point in my baby steps, I am still miles away from being out of debt. It could be several years before I pay off the debt I have. And every single time I spend money, I find myself thinking about how that expense will impact my debt free goal date.

Now, that’s progress for me. I used to not think that far ahead. I would swipe so quickly just so I could have what I wanted right that moment. I am very thankful for the progress. But I still fight shame about the situation I’m currently in. I’m paying my “stupid tax,” as Dave Ramsey says. And I will be for several more years.

I see my friends who have financial freedom. They have little to no debt, and I can see the lack of burden in their lives. I long for that. I want that. I want to be able to freely give. And yes, I want to have some freedom in the way I spend, too. Not too much freedom there, though! After all, that free spending mindset got me where I am right now!

For now, I will put my nose to the grindstone and continue to ask the Lord to help me understand how to spend and save my money. Or maybe I should say His money. And when I have a true understanding that it is all His money, then I will have true financial freedom!

What does financial freedoms look like to you?

6 Responses to “Cost of Financial Freedom”

  1. Kimberly February 1, 2013 at 06:24 #

    When The Lord pulls at your heart to give and you don’t walk away wishing you could give more, that is financial freedom to me. Being able to not only see our family’s dream come true but also being able to financially support other’s dreams as well because that’s what the kingdom looks like right?

    • imakemybed February 1, 2013 at 15:34 #

      Kimberly, that is a wonderful idea of financial freedom! I have no doubts that you will be there soon! We should all be ready to give what the Lord asks of us without reservations. I want to be there!

  2. JM Randolph February 1, 2013 at 23:45 #

    I understand feeling that shame at the current situation. I have that too. But I’ve finally really taken it into my heart that I am exactly where I am supposed to be, and that the shame really doesn’t serve anybody. My husband and I are readdressing our financial situation, using Dave Ramsey’s FPU class. Even though I hate seeing where we are right now, I have a lot of faith that we’re on the right path towards financial freedom. I think for me, at this moment, financial freedom means being free from worry about finances.

    • imakemybed February 2, 2013 at 10:17 #

      JM, I have the same hope for myself. Good luck with FPU, as I listen to Dave Ramsey every day and believe in his material firmly. Perhaps we will all get there very soon! I long to be worry free from finances. It will happen!

  3. Anna Laura February 3, 2013 at 21:25 #

    Song, your posts are inspiring and challenging. Thank you. I have never really thought about what I think financial freedom looks like. I really like Kimberly’s response, and I also highly-respect Dave Ramsey’s principles on what financial freedom means. Way to go, girl.

  4. coltgordon February 5, 2013 at 10:48 #

    I hear that! I love it though. Everyday is a new day to surrender you will become so much stronger because of this! Keep going. And your going down DEBT!

Share your thoughts here!

The Debt Breakup

One girl's journey to financial freedom and debt free travel

eatingdisorderfreedom

My journey from eating dissorder hell to freedom

preneedfuneralplan

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

Brené Brown

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

One Egg Short of a Dozen

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

Mikki's Blog – Living in the Grace and Love of God

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

my blessed life

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

Havah Mommy

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

