Challenge Accepted

4 Feb

What an interesting and challenging couple of weeks I’ve had! I have had three unexpected financial needs come up. Thankfully, I’ve had the money to pay for them, but it has been a little disheartening.

The money that I used was actually my tax refund. I blogged earlier about how I would spend that return. It’s a good thing I didn’t make too many plans, as I had to spend the money in a few ways I didn’t expect. How disappointing! But, I would’ve been able to take care of those expenses anyway because of the money that I had saved.

The bumps in the road did remind me of how far I am from where I want to be financially. And I still struggle with how I spend my money. This past weekend, I bought some things for my dog and also bought something for myself. I probably shouldn’t have, but I did. I also turned away from several opportunities to spend money, including a 50% off sale at my favorite thrift store! So, I need to focus on the positive decisions that I made and reflect on the negative as a learning point.

I have to be honest: that money was and still is burning a hole in my pocket! I want to do so much with it, but now it’s drained to the point that I can’t do anything with it anyway. I’ve used it for practical purchases pretty much, with just a few dollars spent on “fun.” I want to be careful with how I spend because if I let myself go on a spree, I may reinforce my spending habits and lose the focus that I’ve gained. Trust me – this has happened before!

My prayer is that I will continue to spend in a way that glorifies God. I want to spend pragmatically. Right now, I don’t have money to spend on anything else. That continues to be my struggle. It’s MY money, after all!

For the most part, not having a ton of spending money doesn’t feel like a burden anymore. It’s actually exciting to think about where I can put that money and what I can do with it. The baby steps work, people!!! But, old habits die hard, and I still want to spend some money!!! I’m just thankful for my friends who hold me accountable, and especially my God, who wants to see me become all He has created me to be.

So, tomorrow is a new day. I can honestly say that I’m pleased with the progress I’ve made so far. I still have a lot of work to do, but I am still excited about this process. I’m thankful for my personal cheering section; it’s kept me on track. I will keep you posted on my spending habits.

How do you handle bumps in your life (financial or otherwise)?

Share your thoughts here!

The Debt Breakup

One girl's journey to financial freedom and debt free travel

eatingdisorderfreedom

My journey from eating dissorder hell to freedom

preneedfuneralplan

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

Brené Brown

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

One Egg Short of a Dozen

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

Mikki's Blog – Living in the Grace and Love of God

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

my blessed life

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

Havah Mommy

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

