Big Steps

7 Feb

If you’ve been to my blog before, you know I’m walking trough the Dave Ramsey plan right now. I started this blog as I started this plan, and I am happy to report that I have made it to Baby Step 1, which is my emergency fund.

I am so excited because I’ve always struggled with saving money. It was so important to me to have a firm goal in mind when I decided to start this plan. I’ve made goals to save before and always faltered for one reason or another. The firm goal was a big help.

As I got closer to the goal, I became more excited. And I wanted to find ways to get there faster. My snowball was building momentum! I started trimming other areas of my spending and changing some of my spending habits so I could put that money towards my emergency fund. It actually started to become fun!

A challenge for me at the beginning of this process was how I handled the money in my envelopes. If there was money left in one of those envelopes, I would spend it on me. Now, I am trying to spend less than that envelope because I want to put that money towards my snowball!

I have to thank my financial accountability partner here. We will call her “Courtney.” She’s challenged me and encouraged me through this whole process. I have immense respect for her and the way she handles her money. She is humble and gracious, and I owe her a debt (pun intended) of gratitude for all her help. Of course, I’m not going to pay her to make up for it! And she wouldn’t want me to anyway! So, I will thank her here instead!

I’m on to the second step and the first debt. By my calculations, I should have that paid off soon. Check back soon for details! I will keep you posted!

What methods do you use to keep yourself motivated to save? Share your thoughts in the comments section!

Share your thoughts here!

The Debt Breakup

One girl's journey to financial freedom and debt free travel

eatingdisorderfreedom

My journey from eating dissorder hell to freedom

preneedfuneralplan

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

Brené Brown

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

One Egg Short of a Dozen

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

Mikki's Blog – Living in the Grace and Love of God

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

my blessed life

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

Havah Mommy

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

