Stand Beside

15 Feb

I attended a youth conference once, and the speaker talked about worship and how it can impact the people around us. He said that when you worship the Lord, someone beside you might be impacted, and their worship might increase.

I wonder if that is true in other facets of our lives? If I were to stand beside someone who is financially fit, would my financial fitness increase? I would like to think so. I certainly long to have the financial discipline that I see in others. And iron does sharpen iron (Prov 27:17).

We do have to allow ourselves to be sharpened. If we stand beside someone but run every time the iron comes out, we won’t be sharpened. I don’t know about you, but I want a diamond financial mindset. I want it to cut glass!

We don’t need to totally rely on others to sharpen us or to stand beside us. God had given us others for a reason. He said that it’s not good for man to be alone. So, He gives us others to help. But, God is always with us and beside us. “I know the Lord is always with me. I will not be shaken, for he is right beside me (Psalms 16:8 NLT).”

I have a few people that stand beside me in regards to my finances, some more closely than others. A couple of years ago, I would have run at the sight of iron. Now, I find myself running toward it! And I think about the iron when I get ready to spend. It’s so helpful to me now. How fortunate I am to have people that I trust to sharpen me! I want to continue to walk with those who are wise! “Walk with the wise and become wise; associate with fools and get in trouble.” (Proverbs 13:20 NLT)

If you find yourself requiring sharpening, find an iron and make yourself available. The results are priceless.

Who do you allow to sharpen you? How do you allow yourself to be sharpened?

20130215-094538.jpg

Share your thoughts here!

The Debt Breakup

One girl's journey to financial freedom and debt free travel

eatingdisorderfreedom

My journey from eating dissorder hell to freedom

preneedfuneralplan

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

Brené Brown

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

One Egg Short of a Dozen

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

Mikki's Blog – Living in the Grace and Love of God

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

my blessed life

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

Havah Mommy

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

