Star Wars of My Finances

9 Mar

Star Wars of My Finances

I’m not the biggest Star Wars fan out there, but I do enjoy the movies. My favorite episode is Empire Strikes Back. My Financial Accountability Partner (FAP)’s husband shared a quote with me from the movie, …”you have taken your first step into a larger world,” and I responded with my own quote.

“You Must Unlearn What You Have Learned”

He said that I must unlearn what I have leaned if I want to control my finances. And how true is that? I went through adolescence and most of my adult life living paycheck to paycheck (and still am currently). I didn’t care about saving. I only cared about spending, and boy did I enjoy that! But, if I want to give like no one else, as Dave Ramsey says, I MUST unlearn what I’ve learned about money these last 20+ years. So, how do I do that?

Well, to unlearn something, I have to learn something. The best way I know how to learn something is to immerse myself in the subject matter. Writing this blog helps me to do that. I’m always thinking about what I can write about, and I know that I better have positive reports for all my readers out there (all five of you). Believe it or not, making my bed helps me to do that, too. I think about my finances every time I make my bed! It’s a great way to start my day!

I also think reviewing my spending with my FAP keeps me immersed in my financial health. She will not let me get away with anything! And I’ve tried to sneak some things by her. She’s not having it. I’m glad she’s not either. When I spend money, I ask myself what she would say. It really makes me think about what I’m doing with my money!

Reading books is another way I can unlearn what I have learned in the past. I am currently reading Necessary Endings by Dr. Henry Cloud. The book talks about how to handle the various types of endings we encounter in life and reminds me that endings are truly a necessary part of life, even if they are painful.

I’m also reading Complete Guide to Money by Dave Ramsey. It’s the handbook for Financial Peace University (FPU). I’ve only read the first chapter, but I’m looking forward to reading it. I think it will help me gain even more understanding of how to handle money and finances.

Speaking of FPU, I attended my first class on Monday. I had heard or read some of the information before, but I really enjoy how Dave teaches his lessons. He’s humorous and down to earth and loves the Lord. A perfect combination. I’m looking forward to next week’s lesson!

I was a little discouraged after the class. They did a group snapshot of everyone’s financial situation. I have more debt than the class average. Hearing that was a reminder of the mess I got myself into. BUT I also know I can get myself out. And all this immersion will be helpful. Woohoo for the hope to accomplish my goals!

I also realized that while I may have been using a decent budget, it is incomplete. I have a car maintenance line, but it’s not extensive enough. I need to modify my budget to include unexpected car repairs. I also need a more complete beauty care line. I should include haircuts and makeup in that line on my budget.

The good news is that I can adjust my budget at any time, and I’ve already done just that. I am so thankful that I am able to make changes to my budget. I’m also thankful that I can make changes to my behavior. And the best way for me to change my behavior is to unlearn what I have learned.

So, how do you learn/unlearn?

20130309-154656.jpg

Share your thoughts here!

The Debt Breakup

One girl's journey to financial freedom and debt free travel

eatingdisorderfreedom

My journey from eating dissorder hell to freedom

preneedfuneralplan

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

Brené Brown

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

One Egg Short of a Dozen

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

Mikki's Blog – Living in the Grace and Love of God

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

my blessed life

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

Havah Mommy

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

