Dream Retirement

24 Apr

20130424-153750.jpgIn the yard, you can see several cars. There are kids running around the front and backyard. The pool is clean, and the water slide is running. Laughter can be heard outside and inside the home. Adults are milling around sharing the latest news, and hugs are given with ease. The brick ranch-style home has a wrap around porch filled with rocking chairs in full swing, as my children and grandchildren chat freely.

Inside, people gather around the big screen TV to watch the latest sporting event, preferably a Braves game or a college football game. In the kitchen, couples prepare their favorite meals on a spider eye stove and store their food in the stainless steel side by side refrigerator. On my desk, you will find a stack of envelopes. These are not bills, though. These are gifts ready to be mailed. The checks were written with ease, with no apprehension or question about where the money should go. A quick check of my bank statement shows several months of living expenses saved up in an emergency fund. As a matter of fact, this fund has changed the definition of “emergency” for my entire family. My kids are debt free and are funding their kids college and retirement. On my husband’s bedside table are two tickets to an exotic location. The hotel is booked and the rental car is in place, all paid for in cash. There are several more trips lined up, including a cruise and a trip to South Korea. A family trip is scheduled to the beach, too! In the three-car garage are three paid for cars, and money is set aside for repairs and a fund has been set aside for the next cars – a Lexus for me and whatever car my sweet husband wants.

We are both retired comfortably and are looking forward to the travels and to giving to those who are in need. Our retirement accounts contain enough to allow a comfortable life. We lay our heads down at night knowing we gave all that we could – of our time and our finances.

That’s what my dream retirement looks like. What about yours?

3 Responses to “Dream Retirement”

  1. preneedplan April 24, 2013 at 17:19 #

    WOW! What a great retirement! Nothing real fancy. But the most important things are there. Time for family! Great blog post!

  2. preneedplan April 24, 2013 at 17:20 #

    Reblogged this on preneedfuneralplan and commented:
    What a great dream retirement!

  3. Anna Laura April 28, 2013 at 20:55 #

    I could not have said it better myself! That sounds so wonderful. I hope, pray, and believe this can be a reality for us both one day.

Share your thoughts here!

The Debt Breakup

One girl's journey to financial freedom and debt free travel

eatingdisorderfreedom

My journey from eating dissorder hell to freedom

preneedfuneralplan

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

Brené Brown

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

One Egg Short of a Dozen

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

Mikki's Blog – Living in the Grace and Love of God

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

my blessed life

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

Havah Mommy

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

