Peace During the Furlough

16 Jun

20130616-101341.jpg

No fancy title this week. In just a few weeks, the federal government furlough begins. If you’re not sure what that means, I (along with around 650,000 others) will lose a day of pay a week. I won’t provide exact dollar amounts, but it will equal around a 20% reduction in pay until the end of this fiscal year.

Now, this is not an ideal situation for me (or anyone, really, but this is my blog, after all!). I decided a few weeks ago to put my debt snowball on hold and save up some money. I’ve actually been able to set aside some money that I plan to let sit there until an emergency occurs. My prayer is that I don’t need to – or want to – touch that money. If that’s the case, I will take the whole amount and apply it to my car loan after the furlough ends.

What is probably most interesting to me is the amount I’ve been living on over these last few months. Because I’ve been attacking my debt, I’ve become accustomed to living on a certain amount each month. I realized that the amount I’ve been living on is the amount I will be living on when the furlough begins. I’m so excited to know that God has been preparing me for this, really without my knowledge. How cool is He?

God really does care about what matters to us. Financial peace is not a little thing, and He has used these last few months to prepare me. A desire of my heart is to have financial peace. I’m taking strides to that path every day. I haven’t made it yet, but I’m going to keep putting one foot in front of the other!

God knew I wanted financial peace, and He has provided it to me. My continued prayer is that I will learn how to spend/save in accordance with His kingdom. I want to be obedient to His calling. I don’t want to miss an opportunity to bless someone when He asks me to.

How do you prepare for expected financial cutbacks? How do you find peace during unexpected obstacles?

Share your thoughts here!

The Debt Breakup

One girl's journey to financial freedom and debt free travel

eatingdisorderfreedom

My journey from eating dissorder hell to freedom

preneedfuneralplan

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

Brené Brown

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

One Egg Short of a Dozen

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

Mikki's Blog – Living in the Grace and Love of God

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

my blessed life

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

Havah Mommy

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

