Turning It Over to God

30 Jun

20130630-170313.jpgI find that one of my greatest struggles as a Christian is turning over everything to Him. It sounds great, but when we operate out of our earthen vessels, it’s a very difficult concept to live from. I guess I have this tendency to think I can somehow manage to do it myself.

I am currently involved in Celebrate Recovery, and our lesson this week has been Turn. Turning our lives over to Him. I’ve made many turns in my life to Him, including giving my heart to Him on November 4, 2004. Yet, I still have issues in my life that I feel like I should be able to handle on my own.

BUT, that’s not the way God operates. He longs to connect with us and to help us; we only need to ask. Relationship with God is NOT about a one-time event. It’s about constant connection to Him and His will for our lives.

That’s so hard for me! I want to fix things myself. And to an extent, I have to get my hands dirty. “The sluggard buries his hand in the dish, But will not even bring it back to his mouth” (Proverbs 19:24 NASB). I don’t have to do it alone, though. I can ask God to help me over and over again. He doesn’t mind the persistence. “Confess your trespasses to one another, and pray for one another, that you may be healed. The effective, fervent prayer of a righteous man avails much” (James 5:16 NKJV). It’s so hard for me to give it over to Him and to trust Him to take care of me. He’s a powerful God; He can make up for my mistakes!

When I think about how I need to handle my finances, I need to do a better job of asking God how He wants me to handle getting out of debt and managing my financial future. I respect Dave Ramsey and what he has done to help people get out of debt. I believe firmly in his plan, but if I’m not seeking His will, I’m really just spinning my wheels. I have to ask Him, too.

Perhaps my, or should I say His, financial plan will be a hybrid Dave Ramsey plan. I am going to turn my finances over to God even more and ask Him to speak to me about what He wants me to do.

My prayer since I began this journey to clean up my financial mess (made because I didn’t ask Him what to do) has been that I would spend/save appropriately. That’s not enough! “God, I ask you to speak to me about how I should handle my finances. You know what’s best for me and my future. I ask that my financial mindset would align with your heart. I turn it over to you, Lord. I trust your plans for me. in Jesus mighty name, Amen.”

How do you turn things over to The Lord? What would you like to turn over to Him?

One Response to “Turning It Over to God”

  1. Duane Carter June 30, 2013 at 16:34 #

    Turning over everything to Him is a heart condition. It’s being very sensitive to what I woud call the “check” or the “prompting” when, even if I’m doing something good, He says, “that’s not the best” and I do what He says is best. I’ll be honest: it’s hard. It’s hard because it suddenly opened me up to a place where He seems to be constantly challenging things I thought were ok, and for some people those things are ok, but He is making me….ME. I know all of that is vague, but that is what it means to me. Thanks for posting this, Song. We miss you!

Share your thoughts here!

The Debt Breakup

One girl's journey to financial freedom and debt free travel

eatingdisorderfreedom

My journey from eating dissorder hell to freedom

preneedfuneralplan

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

Brené Brown

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

One Egg Short of a Dozen

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

Mikki's Blog – Living in the Grace and Love of God

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

my blessed life

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

Havah Mommy

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

