Handling Failure

6 Jul

20130706-214835.jpgThis journey that I’m on is filled with stumbles and failures, successes and victories. Most days I experience all of these. How I respond to the failure is what really matters.

Failure is defined as the state or condition of not meeting a desirable or intended objective. Failure, or maybe I should say “falling” is a part of life. We all make mistakes, and it’s important for us to pick ourselves off the mat and try again. My pastor’s wife told me once “we cannot fail if we don’t quit.”

I’m trying to learn that still. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve quit trying because I didn’t believe I’d ever get it right or I just didn’t have the energy or courage to do it again.

Now, I’ve got a drive to be better. I still make mistakes. And I still struggle with how I handle my mistakes. They’re no fun! Especially when the mistakes involve other people. When people are hurt by our mistakes, it’s not just about getting over our own mistakes. We have to forgive ourselves for the harm we’ve done to others. We have to make it right if it’s possible. Then, we move on.

I’ve made many financial mistakes. I still am! But I refuse to give up. I refuse to quit! I’m going to keep on keeping on until it becomes a little easier. I believe that the Lord wants to help me conquer this struggle. As long as I lean on Him and continue to put people in my life who believe in me and want to help me, I won’t fail. I may stumble and fall, but I will not fail. I’m just going to get back up, over and over again. Because I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me!

I will close with this thought: Our failures are just moments. They do NOT define us.

How do you handle failure? Do you have a support group to help you during fallen moments?

Share your thoughts here!

The Debt Breakup

One girl's journey to financial freedom and debt free travel

eatingdisorderfreedom

My journey from eating dissorder hell to freedom

preneedfuneralplan

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

Brené Brown

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

One Egg Short of a Dozen

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

Mikki's Blog – Living in the Grace and Love of God

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

my blessed life

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

Havah Mommy

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

