Mid-Year Review

11 Jul

It’s the middle of the year, and I thought it might be fun for me and my readers (all six of you) to do a review of my 13 goals for this year. Drum roll, please…
1. I want to run a 10k before the year is up. I plan on running three 5k races and then moving up to a 10k. I will keep you all posted!

I have run two 5k races this year. I also participated in another run but did not run the entire thing. I am currently training for my 10k. It’s going well so far, and I have registered for the Monte Sano 10k for August 31. Eek!

2. I want to give more of my time to organizations outside of my church. I love giving my time to my church, and I want to spend time giving to those outside of the church, too.

I have been volunteering at a food bank in Huntsville. I am enjoying getting to know the people there. I just enjoy talking with them and encouraging them. It blesses me and reminds me there is more in the world than myself and my problems.

3. I want to love more – those I know and those I don’t. It’s easy to love those we know, and I want to show those I know just how much I love them. I also want to show all of His people that I love them, even if it means I simply give a bigger tip to my waitress or I smile at the stranger in the checkout line. I just want to love more!

I think I’m doing a better job at showing people grace than I have in the past. I am trying to reach out to others, and I am trying to be supportive to the people I care about. I also try to be more empathetic to people and their circumstances, whether I know them or not. I don’t think there’s a way to quantify this, but I do think it’s a good idea for me to monitor myself.

4. I want to read more. Last year I attempted to read 52 books in a year. I didn’t make it, and the books I did read weren’t as enjoyable because I was more focused on the goal than the book. This year, I just want to read more.

I am not doing well here. I have a stack of books that I need to read, but I have not been reading them with the fervor I would like to. I would also like to find a fun book to read. Most of my books are self-help books.

5. I want to laugh more. I sometimes take myself or my life too seriously, and I want to laugh more, whether I laugh at myself or with others. Laughter really is the best medicine, and I want to take it every day!

I still need to work on this. I can laugh and have a great time most days, but I also tend to be too serious each day, too. I need to be lighter in spirit!

6. I want to learn more. I want to learn more about myself. I want to learn how to handle situations better than I did last year. And I want to learn more about the life God has for me.

I am definitely working on this in many areas. I am currently involved in a leadership development course at work. We meet once a month, and it helps me to analyze how I treat and lead others. It also helps me work on my interpersonal skills, which I need help on. Also, I am currently participating in a Celebrate Recovery step study, and believe you me, I am learning a lot about myself. And we are just getting started. We hope to be done by the end of the year. My prayer is that the struggles and issues I have will be changed, that I will be changed, and that my relationships will be blessed because of the changes.

7. I want to meet more people. Enough said.

The leadership development course, the volunteering, and the Celebrate Recovery step study are all helping me to meet new people. I have also been participating in some Meetup.com groups when I’m able. I will continue to work on this throughout the year.

8. Speaking of meeting new people: I want to meet a man who loves the Lord, and not just any man. I want to meet my future husband. Please pray for this with me!

No luck on this. I have dated some but nothing to write about…YET!

9. I want to open my heart more to others. I want my relationships to become richer, and that can’t happen until I open my heart.

I have done this some. Celebrate Recovery is helping me with this. It’s difficult because it exposes my heart. But it’s worth it because it helps to enrich my relationships.

10. I want to smile more. People have told me that I have a nice smile, and I want to exploit that feature more than I do now. I feel like it will help me better relate to others.

I guess we could lump this in with laughing more. I do need to make more of an effort to smile, even when I don’t feel like it. It changes my inner world and the world around me.

11. I want to dream more. For years, I stopped dreaming for myself. Now, I want to believe that God has great things in store for me. DREAM BIG!!!

I’m actually excited about this one. I am dreaming – about the home I will own, being debt-free, my family, vacations, going to school again, etc… It feels good to have goals and plans.

12. I want to try more new things. Maybe I will try cooking lessons or dancing lessons or something else that’s fun. I just want to try things that I’ve never tried before. I’m open to suggestions, too!

I think the only thing I’ve truly tried is salsa dancing, and I only tried that once. I still like to do things I’ve never done before. But I don’t think there’s anything notable this year yet. I better get busy. Thoughts/suggestions???

13. I want to have better control of my finances. I started this blog because I’m desperate for a change. This time next year, I hope to move this goal into the “Things I did Right” blog.

I am still struggling with this. I have good days and bad, but I’m not where I want to be. I am on the right path and if I step off the path, I know where the path is and find my way back quickly. Thank you for your grace, Jesus.

So, that’s how I’m doing so far this year. How are you doing on your goals? What do you plan on doing for the last half of this year?

One Response to “Mid-Year Review”

  1. Anna Laura July 11, 2013 at 19:54 #

    WOW! I am so impressed. I wish I was as organized and dedicated to making goals as you have been this year. I am so very, very proud of you, Song. I am so blessed to know you! Love you, girl.

Share your thoughts here!

The Debt Breakup

One girl's journey to financial freedom and debt free travel

eatingdisorderfreedom

My journey from eating dissorder hell to freedom

preneedfuneralplan

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

Brené Brown

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

One Egg Short of a Dozen

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

Mikki's Blog – Living in the Grace and Love of God

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

my blessed life

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

Havah Mommy

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

