Living One Day at a Time

20 Jul

dayI am currently involved in Celebrate Recovery, which is a twelve-step recovery program based on the Alcoholics Anonymous twelve-step program. One of the elements of the recovery prayer is “living one day at a time.” I never really understood what that meant until I entered a recovery program myself.

My choice to enter this recovery program is based mostly on emotional issues I have that tend to permeate and invade most of my relationships.

Those issues reared their ugly heads recently, and a friend pointed me toward the program. I decided to take the plunge because I want to become all God has created me to be. It’s been rewarding so far. I’m learning how to trust other people with my heart and am building quality relationships. I’m so thankful for the people I have already befriended.

A situation occurred recently that absolutely broke my heart. I am on the mend now, but it was pretty rough going for a couple of weeks. I spent a lot of time questioning what I did wrong and whether the situation would ever resolve itself. I still am, but I realized one of the reasons why this situation has been so hard for me is the daunting vision I’ve cast. I look way into the future and wonder if things will be resolved. I look two or three years ahead and it saddens me that things won’t be the same. I just can’t do that anymore. I have to live one day at a time. If I am happy today, I need to just enjoy that happiness. If I’m having a tough day, I need to refocus my thoughts and lean on my support group. The next day, I start all over again.

This mentality of living one day at a time got me thinking about my 10k training. It’s not going swimmingly, but I am still trying. If I were to think about the 10k the entire time I trained, I might not finish. I am using a Couch to 10k program, which uses intermittent running and walking to prepare my body to run a 10k. I like the principle behind the program – I run that day’s work out. I don’t worry about the next day. If I have a tough day and don’t complete the run like I want to, I try again the next day. If I think about how I’m not running 60 minutes yet every time I lace up my running shoes, it’s going to be difficult for me to stay motivated. Instead, I choose to focus on that day’s requirements. I need to apply this to my daily life, too. I need to focus on that day or maybe even that moment. Sometimes, that’s all I can do, and that is OKAY!

This principle also applies to my finances. I have made tremendous progress on my car. I still have some work to do, and that work is on hold while I prepare for the furlough (basically a 20% cut in pay). When I pay off my car, I have a plan on what I will do next. I will try to move closer to work and save for another car that will sit in my account until I need a car or need to make a major repair. Then, I will begin tackling my massive student loan debt. I’m still working on my debt snowball, but if I only focus on how long it will take me to pay off my student loan, I might lose some of my motivation. Don’t get me wrong, I have a plan for my debt. And I am working that plan. I just have to focus on the plan one step at a time and not think about the large debt that is coming my way. I am still rather excited about the progress I’ve made. I am really looking forward to paying off my car. I can’t wait to share that with you!

So, I am going to continue to work my Celebrate Recovery program, my 10k training, and my financial plan one day at a time. It’s really a great philosophy for life. I have a long way to go in my walk with God. I have issues and problems just like everyone else. But I can’t focus on how far away I am. I have to focus on the little victories and the progress I make. I won’t ever be perfect, and it’s unfair for me to hold myself to that standard. I can continue to seek Him to help me find the peace and grace I need to get through the DAY.

How do you keep your day in proper perspective? How do you keep a task or an issue from becoming too daunting?

Share your thoughts here!

The Debt Breakup

One girl's journey to financial freedom and debt free travel

eatingdisorderfreedom

My journey from eating dissorder hell to freedom

preneedfuneralplan

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

Brené Brown

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

One Egg Short of a Dozen

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

Mikki's Blog – Living in the Grace and Love of God

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

my blessed life

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

Havah Mommy

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

