Another Update

26 Aug

20130826-082912.jpg

Another Update

I almost hate to write this. I keep telling all six of my readers how I’ve messed up and spent when I shouldn’t have. I keep talking about my envelopes being out of sync.

I haven’t improved since my last update. I feel like I’ve almost regressed.
I’ve spent a lot of money that I should have applied to my car payment. I had a couple of emergencies come up that depleted what I had set aside for a furlough emergency, and I haven’t really been emphatic about saving or reducing my spending.

I wish I had an excuse. Or even a reason. I keep thinking about what’s going on. I don’t have an excuse or a reason. It’s just laziness and complacency. I haven’t prayed about my spending habits as much as I should. I fell off the wagon.

Now, my fall wasn’t too hard. I still have most of my emergency fund. But the way I’m living financially is just not working. I’m not working my support system like I should. Oh, and I’m finding a rationale behind my increased spending!

I’ve decided that I’m going to give myself a little more spending money. The amount I was allowing myself was doable, but it was also setting myself up for failure. It’s not a good feeling to fail, so instead of setting a lofty goal that seems impossible to obtain or sustain for a long period of time, I’m going to give myself a little grace.

I have a busy and expensive few weeks ahead of me. I’ve got two races this weekend. My brother is getting married in about two weeks, and then I have a church conference the next weekend. A whirlwind September for sure.

I would like to report that I went to a Braves game recently and did NOT buy myself apparel. That’s a huge accomplishment for me! And I’m okay, too! At least I know that I’m still making progress. I’m just not where I’d like to be yet.

I don’t know how much you can expect to see from me next month. I will definitely update you on my races, but it may be inconsistent.

I hope all of you have a wonderful rest of the summer. I pray that God blesses your finances beyond measure. And I believe that His plan is working through each of us.

How do you get back on the wagon? How do you evaluate your goals?

Share your thoughts here!

The Debt Breakup

One girl's journey to financial freedom and debt free travel

eatingdisorderfreedom

My journey from eating dissorder hell to freedom

preneedfuneralplan

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

Brené Brown

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

One Egg Short of a Dozen

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

Mikki's Blog – Living in the Grace and Love of God

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

my blessed life

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

Havah Mommy

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.