Mark Your Calendars

1 Oct

20131001-140123.jpg
Have you ever had a moment that you marked on your calendar? A moment that you would always remember when you looked at that date?

I’m sure we’ve all had those moments. Whether it’s positive or negative, we mark certain days. I have a strong desire to be a positive mark on the calendar of those around me. I want to leave a lasting impression. I want to leave a legacy.

So, how do I make my mark? That’s a question I should ask myself every day.

I’m going to give my opinions, so please feel free to share your own.

1. Love God. And He said to him,
‘You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, and with all your soul, and with all your mind.’ (Matthew 22:37 NASB)

It’s taken me a while (slow learner, here), but I’m learning that everything springs from the love of God. It’s the first fruit listed in the fruits of the spirit because it’s the root. It’s the root of all God wants to do in us and through us.

2. Love ourselves. The second is like it, ‘You shall love your neighbor as yourself.’ (Matthew 22:39 NASB)

We (me, myself, and I) must learn to love ourselves so that we can show love to others.

3. Love others.

What does love look like? I’m going to refrain – pun intended- from entering love song lyrics here! It’s personal for every person, but treating others with respect and grace is a great way to start. And take it from someone who knows, anyone can learn to love. God shows me more about how to love with each passing day.

4. Be generous.

This doesn’t have to be financial generosity, although it can be. It can be generous with compliments, or generous with forgiveness. Generosity has many faces, and we all probably have a better idea how to be generous than any of us realize. After all, the same God who raised Christ from the dead and also gave up His Son so that we may have life lives in us. That’s pretty generous!!! So, I’m inclined to believe we are generous by nature!

5. Be kind.

Being kind takes practice. It is a conscious choice. Many times, it’s easier to just react to the way we feel. I’m the queen of that! We are called to a higher standard, though. I have to learn to smile at people even when I’m being treated “unfairly.” I need to smile at others and myself! I have a strong desire to get this right. I’m better than I was, but I still have a long path ahead of me.

I’m going to put this into practice by ending the blog very soon. I could go on and on about what it takes to leave a mark. But I think the best way to leave a mark is to seek The Lord. From that, everything else falls into place. That doesn’t mean that we won’t struggle with our fallen nature. It just means we know we can pick ourselves up and try again.

Of course, I can’t write a blog without discussing my finances.

I really need to start using my calendar to track my spending. It’s been out of control lately. I hope to get back on track this week! I’m marking my calendar today. I’m going to pick myself up again and make a new mark. I’m starting again on this path of financial freedom and stability. Lord, help me. I can’t do this without you!

One other note: I hope any marks I’ve made on your calendar have been positive. If I’ve left a negative mark (or two or three) I apologize. I’m a work in progress and a hot mess, but I’m seeking the One who can do the work and can clean the mess. Thank you for your patience with me, dear readers, and to you, my risen Savior. I’m so thankful for God’s Grace and that I’m not defined by my marks. I’m defined by the One who sets the days in order!!!

How do you leave a mark?

One Response to “Mark Your Calendars”

  1. Laura October 1, 2013 at 13:30 #

    Well said Song, and I agree (thanks for gettin’ in my head)! HUGS! Laura

Share your thoughts here!

The Debt Breakup

One girl's journey to financial freedom and debt free travel

eatingdisorderfreedom

My journey from eating dissorder hell to freedom

preneedfuneralplan

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

Brené Brown

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

One Egg Short of a Dozen

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

Mikki's Blog – Living in the Grace and Love of God

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

my blessed life

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

Havah Mommy

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

